The magnificent estate and the characteristic castle from which Castello Bonomi takes its name were built by Andrea Tonelli at the end of the 19th century.
After seven years of imprisonment in the Spielberg fortress due to his significant role in the Carbonari society, along with personalities like Silvio Pellico and Piero Maroncelli, Andrea Tonelli is released thanks to the intercession of the Austrian Queen. Upon returning to his homeland, he commissions the renowned architect AntonioTagliaferri to design this architectural gem.
In 1910, the Bonomi family acquires the property from Bortolo Tonelli, the last heir of Andrea: thus, the estate becomes the countryside residence of the Bonomifamily. As often happens in such cases, the property is passed down from generation to generation until it reaches Engineer Marino Bonomi, who in 1985 establishes the TenutaCastellino. The recovery of the historic family vineyard and the renovation of the premises of an ancient arsenal built on the side of Mount Orfano mark the beginning of the winery's activity.
In the summer of the following year, LuigiBersini, the chef de cave, leaves the vineyards and heads towards the woods, where he discovers among ivy and wild shrubs some ancient vines. He discovered that the forest had taken over a portion of land hiding an old vineyard. The lost vineyard, the CruPerdu, gives its name to one of the most celebrated Franciacorta wines by Castello Bonomi.
In 2008, the winery becomes part of CasaPaladin, a family-owned group of wineries, located in Italy's most prestigious denominations. The Paladin family continues withconsistency what was started by the Bonomi family, thanks also to the contribution of the technical team represented by the chef de cave Luigi Bersini, who has been leading the production since 1985.
CASTELLO BONOMI Tenute in Franciacorta Società Agricola a r.l.